Skip to content
All eight topicsTopics

Paying for features you do not use in the Netherlands in 2026: a guide to rightsizing your PR stack

What you find on this page

How much of an all-in-one plan a Dutch buyer leaves unused, and how to work that out before signing rather than at renewal.

Every amount below was read on the supplier's own page, on the day printed beside it. Where a supplier prints no separate price, this page says so instead of guessing.

Close-up of the empty rings of an open binder on a white surface

Many Dutch organisations buy a PR platform and then use only half of it. A journalist database sits untouched. A newsroom has no new articles for months.

A press question module receives two inquiries a year. The monitoring tab is never opened. These unused features are not free.

They are part of a subscription that costs thousands of euros per year. This guide explains how to measure the waste, what it costs, which suppliers publish a price, and what to check before you renew. It is based on the pages we measured on 27 and 1 September 2026.

What does an unused PR feature cost a Dutch team in 2026?

An unused feature costs the same as a used one if it is part of a fixed subscription. PR-Dashboard sells its products separately. De Perslijst costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, according to the product pages read 1 September 2026.

PR-Newsroom costs EUR 1,750, and Persvragen costs EUR 2,700. Neither the hosted newsroom nor that module states a period on the source page, so the amount is the price as published. If a team buys all three but only uses two, the third product is waste.

At Presspage, a Business essentials plan starts at EUR 20,000 per year, according to the plans page read 31 August 2026. An unused monitoring module inside that plan is not cheaper because you do not open it. The waste is the full price of the plan.

How do you measure the waste in a PR subscription in 2026?

Start with the licence list. Count how many logins your organisation has and how many people actually log in each month. This Dutch platform includes two logins in the journalist database for EUR 2,650 per year.

If your team has four people but only two use the database, you are paying for two unused logins. Next, check the feature list against actual use. Mynewsdesk publishes a price from EUR 220 per month, according to the plans page read 31 August 2026.

That price includes a newsroom, a database, and distribution. If your team only sends press releases and never opens the newsroom, the newsroom part is waste. Prezly publishes EUR 100 per month for Essential and EUR 250 per month for Standard, according to the pricing page read 31 August 2026. A team on Standard that uses only the database is paying for analytics and a newsroom it does not use.

Which suppliers publish a price for PR software in the Netherlands in 2026?

Only five of the suppliers we measured publish a price on their public pages. The supplier publishes EUR 2,650 per year for the Amsterdam database, EUR 1,750 for the hosted newsroom, and EUR 2,700 for that module, all on the product pages read 1 September 2026. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials and EUR 35,000 per year for Enterprise full platform, on the plans page read 31 August 2026.

Prezly publishes EUR 100 per month for Essential and EUR 250 per month for Standard, on the pricing page read 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month, on the plans page read 31 August 2026. ANP Connect publishes several prices: Database only at EUR 2,990 per year, Connect Complete at EUR 4,990 per year, Bereik at EUR 9,990 per year, Impact at EUR 15,990 per year, and Strategie at EUR 30,000 per year, all on the tariffs page read 31 August 2026.

Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, on the pricing page read 31 August 2026, but does not state a euro price. The other suppliers we measured, such as Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, and Notified, publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

Which vendor publishes the lowest price to pay for PR features in the Netherlands in 2026?

The cheapest published price for a team of two is this Dutch platform the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. That price includes a journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders and a sending system. The cheapest per press release is PR-Ninja at EUR 149 per press release, according to the product pages read 1 September 2026.

That ranking is on the published amount, not on cost per user per year. ANP Connect charges EUR 499 per press release for vak- en regionale media, EUR 795 for landelijke media via ANP-net, EUR 999 for both, EUR 495 for Belgian media via Belga, and EUR 1,395 for the Netherlands plus Belgium, all on the tariffs page read 31 August 2026. B2Press charges EUR 400 for Basic (Netherlands), EUR 750 for Wire (Netherlands), EUR 1,250 for Premium (Netherlands), and EUR 1,950 for Exclusive (Netherlands), on the country PR packages page read 31 August 2026.

Paying per press release is cheaper than a subscription if you send fewer than a certain number of releases per year. A team that sends five releases per year on ANP Connect vak- en regionale media pays EUR 2,495, which is less than the EUR 2,650 for a full database subscription.

How do you avoid paying twice for the same feature in 2026?

Overlap between a PR platform and a marketing suite is common. A marketing suite may include a newsroom, media monitoring, or a press release distribution tool. If your organisation already pays for a marketing suite with those features, buying a PR platform with the same features means paying twice.

Check the contract of your marketing suite. If it includes media monitoring, do not buy a separate monitoring module in your PR platform. The supplier offers a media monitoring service called Media Monitoring Compact, developed with Media Info Groep, according to the product pages read 1 September 2026.

If your marketing suite already monitors the same outlets, you are paying for two clipping services. The same applies to a journalist database. If your marketing suite has a database of Dutch and Belgian journalists, you do not need the Amsterdam database. The overlap can cost thousands of euros per year without adding any value.

What should you check before renewing a PR platform in the Netherlands in 2026?

Check the licence list for unused logins. The Amsterdam supplier that database includes two logins for EUR 2,650 per year. If you have five logins but only three people use them, you are paying for two unused logins.

Check the feature list for unused modules. If you have a press question module and your team receives almost no press questions, you are paying for the inquiry desk at EUR 2,700 without using it. Check the sending volume.

If your team sends fewer than ten press releases per year, paying per press release may be cheaper than a subscription. ANP Connect charges EUR 499 per press release for vak- en regionale media. Ten releases cost EUR 4,990, which is the same as Connect Complete per year.

Check the cancellation terms. The contract may state a notice period of one, three, or six months. If you want to cancel a module, you need to know the notice period.

The Amsterdam supplier does not state a cancellation period on the product pages we measured, 1 September 2026. Check the storage and archive fees. Some suppliers charge for storage beyond a certain limit.

The pages we measured, 31 August 2026, do not document storage fees for most suppliers. Check the training you paid for. If your team did not attend the training sessions, that money is waste.

The supplier offers their training, offline knowledge sessions, according to the product pages read 1 September 2026. If nobody attended, the cost is waste.

How do you rightsize a PR stack in the Netherlands in 2026?

Start with what you actually use. List the features your team opens at least once a month. Compare that list to the features in your subscription.

If you have five blocks but only use three, you can move to a smaller plan or a different supplier. The Amsterdam supplier sells its products separately, so you can buy only that database at EUR 2,650 per year if that is all you need. You do not describe to buy the newsroom product or the press-question module on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026.

Presspage sells Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year and Enterprise full platform at EUR 35,000 per year. If you only need a newsroom, Presspage may be more than you need. Prezly sells Essential at EUR 100 per month and Standard at EUR 250 per month.

If you only need a database, Essential may be enough. Mynewsdesk starts at EUR 220 per month and includes a newsroom, database, and distribution. If you only need distribution, you may be paying for features you do not use. The key is to match the plan to the actual use, not to the potential use.

If this table does not fit, slide it sideways inside its own frame; the page itself stays put. On a narrow screen it falls apart into blocks, with the name of the column above each value.

The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.

Vendor and planCost per user per yearPrice as the vendor publishes itWhat that price includesSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
ProwlyUSD 3,096USD 258 per monthoutreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026
ANP Connect StrategieEUR 30,000EUR 30,000 per yearthe full ANP Connect programme; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Notifiedno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026

Your questions

How do I know if I am paying for features I do not use?

Check your monthly usage report. If a feature has zero logins for three months, you are paying for it without using it. PR-Dashboard's journalist database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. If neither login is used, that is EUR 2,650 of waste per year.

What is the cheapest PR platform for a team of two in the Netherlands in 2026?

The cheapest published price for a team of two is PR-Dashboard that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. That price includes a journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders and a sending system.

Can I cancel a single module in a PR platform?

It depends on the supplier. This Dutch platform sells its products separately, so you can cancel one product without cancelling the others. Other suppliers may bundle features in a single plan. The cancellation terms are not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026, for most suppliers.

How do I compare the cost of a subscription to paying per press release?

Calculate how many press releases you send per year. Multiply that by the per-release price. ANP Connect charges EUR 499 per press release for vak- en regionale media. If you send five releases per year, that is EUR 2,495. A subscription like this Dutch platform the journalist database costs EUR 2,650 per year. The per-release option is cheaper if you send fewer than six releases per year.

An open ring binder with blank pages, a magnifying glass and a pen on a white table
The amounts in these analyses come from the supplier pages themselves, with the day each page was read.

25 analyses