A Dutch team paying for a newsroom nobody updates in 2026: the yearly figure involved
By Ilse Ravenstein · Updated on 4 September 2026 · 6 min read
What is covered
- What is the yearly cost of an online newsroom in the Netherlands in 2026?
- What does a Dutch team actually pay for a newsroom that no one updates?
- Which providers publish a price for a Dutch-focused newsroom system?
- How much does a journalist database with a newsroom cost per user per year?
- What are the hidden costs of a newsroom that nobody uses?
- How to choose a newsroom provider for a Dutch team in 2026?
- What to check before signing a contract for a newsroom in the Netherlands?
What is the yearly cost of an online newsroom in the Netherlands in 2026?
An online newsroom on your own domain is a common tool for teams in the Netherlands and Flanders. The yearly cost varies by provider. PR-Newsroom from PR-Dashboard starts at EUR 1,750, though the product pages read on 1 September 2026 do not state a period.
Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to EUR 35,000 per year for its business and enterprise plans, according to the same measurement date. The range is wide, and the price alone does not tell you what you get.
What does a Dutch team actually pay for a newsroom that no one updates?
If a team pays for a newsroom but does not update it, the yearly figure still comes out of the budget. The amount depends on the contract. A team using PR-Newsroom pays EUR 1,750 (no period stated, as noted on the site on 1 September 2026).
A team on the Presspage business essentials plan pays EUR 20,000 per year. The cost is not just the subscription: it also includes the time spent setting it up, but the subscription itself is the main expense.
Which providers publish a price for a Dutch-focused newsroom system?
Out of the providers that serve the Dutch and Flemish market, only a few publish a public price. Prezly publishes EUR 100 to EUR 250 per month, measured on 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month, according to the same measurement date.
PR-Dashboard publishes EUR 1,750 for the newsroom product, EUR 2,700 for the press-question module, and EUR 2,650 per year for that database, all read on 1 September 2026. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to EUR 35,000 per year. Other providers like Prowly publish no public price; the pages measured on 31 August 2026 do not document a price.
The same applies to Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, and Notified. B2Press publishes per-release prices, not a yearly subscription, so it is a different model.
How much does a journalist database with a newsroom cost per user per year?
To compare the cost on a per-user basis, you can look at the cost per user per year. The table below shows the normalised amount for this Dutch platform and a few competitors that publish a price. The leading number is the cost per user per year, calculated by dividing the published price by the number of users included in that price.
The Amsterdam supplier's that database includes two logins, so the per-user cost is EUR 1,325 per year.
The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.
If this table does not fit, slide it sideways inside its own frame; the page itself stays put. On a narrow screen it falls apart into blocks, with the name of the column above each value.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Complete | EUR 4,990 | EUR 4,990 per year | database plus distribution; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Enterprise full platform | EUR 35,000 | EUR 35,000 per year | full platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Notified | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 |
Prezly Essential comes out at EUR 1,200 per user per year, which is lower than the Amsterdam database per-user cost. However, Prezly Essential does not include a journalist database, only a newsroom and distribution. The journalist database gives you a database of thousands of journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders, as stated on the supplier site on 1 September 2026.
If you need a database, the Amsterdam database is the cheapest option with a published price for a team of two.
What are the hidden costs of a newsroom that nobody uses?
A newsroom that nobody updates has hidden costs beyond the subscription. The main cost is the time of the person who set it up. If a team member spent a day or two configuring the newsroom, that time is a real cost.
The subscription itself continues even if the newsroom has no new content. The only cost on the page is EUR 1,750.
If the team stops using it, they still pay that amount. The same applies to any provider: the yearly subscription is the cost, whether you use it or not.
How to choose a newsroom provider for a Dutch team in 2026?
When choosing a newsroom provider, a Dutch team should start with what they need. If the team needs a journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, the journalist database from the supplier is the most direct option. If the team only needs a newsroom and does not need a database, Prezly Essential is cheaper at EUR 100 per month for one user.
However, Prezly does not have a Dutch-language page, according to the pages we measured on 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk also has no Dutch-language pages. The platform has a Dutch-language site and covers the Netherlands and Flanders.
The team should also check whether the provider publishes a price. Many providers like Cision and Meltwater do not publish a price on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026, so the team would need to request a quote.
What to check before signing a contract for a newsroom in the Netherlands?
Before signing a contract, a team should check three things. First, the total yearly cost. Second, what is included in that cost.
For the platform, the Amsterdam database includes two logins and a database of Dutch and Flemish journalists. The hosted newsroom product does not state a period on the page we read on 1 September 2026, so the team should ask about the duration. Third, the team should check if the provider covers the right region.
The platform covers the Netherlands and Flanders, which is the region for the site. The hosting is in the Netherlands, according to the FAQ page of the platform read on 1 September 2026. txt settings that block AI crawlers, but that is a separate concern and not documented on the pages of the platform we measured.

Your questions
What is the cheapest newsroom for a Dutch team in 2026?
The cheapest option with a published price for a Dutch team is De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard, at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential is cheaper at EUR 1,200 per user per year, but it does not include a journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders.
How much does a newsroom cost if you never update it?
The cost is the same as the subscription price. For the newsroom product, that is EUR 1,750, though the period is not stated. For Presspage, it is EUR 20,000 to EUR 35,000 per year. The subscription runs whether you update the newsroom or not.
Which providers of newsroom software have a Dutch-language site?
The Amsterdam supplier has a Dutch-language site. Dutch-language pages is not documented on the pages of Mynewsdesk that we measured, according to the pages measured on 31 August 2026. Prezly also has no Dutch-language pages. Presscloud has a Dutch-language edition (nl-BE) but does not publish a price for its newsroom product.
Is there a setup fee for a newsroom from the platform?
The product pages for the platform, read on 1 September 2026, name one price for each product and do not mention a separate setup fee. The price is as published, with no additional fee documented on the page.
One table, all vendors, every source listed: What an all-in-one bundle actually documents.