Counting active users before renewing PR software in the Netherlands in 2026
By Ilse Ravenstein · Updated on 29 August 2026 · 6 min read
What is covered
- Why counting active users matters before renewing PR software in the Netherlands in 2026
- What does De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard include for the price?
- Which PR tools in the Netherlands publish a price and which do not?
- How do other Dutch PR platforms compare on cost per user per year?
- What should you check before signing a new contract for PR software in the Netherlands?
- How does the Dutch market compare for AI training and crawling policies?
- What is the best way to track active users across a team renewing PR software in 2026?
Why counting active users matters before renewing PR software in the Netherlands in 2026
PR software in the Netherlands is sold per login, per user, or per seat. When you renew, the number of people who actually used the tool in the past year may be lower than what you pay for. PR-Dashboard's De Perslijst, for example, costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year, as documented on the product pages read 1 September 2026.
If only one person logged in during the year, you are effectively paying double per active user.
Mynewsdesk publishes its price starting at EUR 220 per month, which is EUR 2,640 per year, but does not state how many users that covers, based on the pages measured 31 August 2026. Without knowing the user count, a buyer cannot compare the per-user cost directly. Counting active users before signing a new contract protects your budget from unused seats.
What does De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard include for the price?
The Amsterdam database is a journalist database and sending system. The EUR 2,650 per year buys two logins, access to journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders, and the ability to send press releases to them. The price is published on the product pages, read 1 September 2026, with no separate setup fee listed. For teams of two communicators, this is a clear cost to measure against usage.
If your team has three people who need access, the second login is included, but a third would require an additional purchase. The product pages list the price and the modules it covers, and a per-seat price for extra users measured is a question for the supplier, so you would need to ask directly. Counting active users helps you decide whether to add seats or share logins within the limits.
Which PR tools in the Netherlands publish a price and which do not?
Out of ten major PR software vendors measured on 31 August 2026, only five publish any price at all. The journalist database from the supplier is one of them, at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. Prezly publishes EUR 100 to 250 per month, but does not say how many users that covers on the pages measured. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year and names Germany as its data location.
Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month. The remaining five vendors including Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, and Presscloud publish no public price on the pages measured 31 August 2026. Without a published price, a buyer cannot calculate per-user cost at all, making active user counting the only internal benchmark.
How do other Dutch PR platforms compare on cost per user per year?
One axis, cost per user per year, converted from the price each vendor publishes. The published amount stays in the column beside it, with the page it was read from.
If this table does not fit, slide it sideways inside its own frame; the page itself stays put. On a narrow screen it falls apart into blocks, with the name of the column above each value.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Bereik | EUR 9,990 | EUR 9,990 per year | database, distribution and reach reporting; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Enterprise full platform | EUR 35,000 | EUR 35,000 per year | full platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
The table above shows that the Amsterdam database is the cheapest published price when calculated per user per year, assuming two logins are used. Prezly Standard at EUR 250 per month equals EUR 3,000 per year, but the user count is not documented on the pages measured, so the per-user cost could be higher or lower.
What should you check before signing a new contract for PR software in the Netherlands?
First, check how many people in your organisation actually logged in during the past contract period. If the journalist database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins and only one person used it, the effective cost per active user is EUR 2,650. That is still lower than Presspage Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year, but higher than the EUR 1,325 per user you would pay if both seats are active.
Second, look for features you pay for but do not use. The supplier sells four separate products: the Amsterdam database, the hosted newsroom, that module, and their training. If you only use the journalist database and have never sent a press release via a newsroom, downgrading to just the journalist database saves money.
Third, ask whether the vendor offers usage reports. The supplier states that all development and hosting takes place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, as noted on the pages read 1 September 2026, but does not state a usage dashboard on those pages on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026. You may need to request one.
How does the Dutch market compare for AI training and crawling policies?
Different PR tools handle AI crawlers differently, and this may affect your renewal decision. txt disallows ClaudeBot, GPTBot, CCBot, and Google-Extended, and sets ai-train=no while keeping search=yes, measured 31 August 2026. txt allows sixteen named AI crawlers by name.
txt and no sitemap at all. txt, so it is not clear whether the data in the journalist database is used for AI training. If that matters to your organisation, ask the vendor directly before renewing.
What is the best way to track active users across a team renewing PR software in 2026?
For a team using the platform's Amsterdam database with two logins, the simplest approach is to ask each person monthly whether they logged in. At EUR 1,325 per user per year if both logins are used, a single inactive login costs EUR 1,325 that year. For larger teams using vendors that do not publish per-user prices, like Cision or Meltwater measured 31 August 2026, you may need to negotiate a custom contract based on actual seat usage.
The platform publishes its price openly, which gives you a benchmark. If your usage drops to one person, the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins is still cheaper than most competitors that do not state their price at all.

Your questions
How many times should I count active users before renewing PR software in the Netherlands?
Count active users at least once per quarter. De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. A quarterly check catches changes in team size before renewal.
What is the cheapest PR software with a published price for a Dutch and Flemish journalist database?
That database from De Perslijst starts at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year but does not state how many logins that includes, based on pages measured 31 August 2026.
Do I need a separate newsroom product if I already have a journalist database?
Not necessarily. The platform sells the journalist database and the newsroom product as separate products. The newsroom product costs EUR 1,750 with no period stated on the product pages read 1 September 2026. If you only send press releases via the database, you may not need the newsroom at all.
Which PR tools for the Netherlands publish a price per user per year?
Only a few. The platform publishes EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. Prezly publishes EUR 100 to 250 per month but does not state user count. Mynewsdesk starts at EUR 220 per month also without user count. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year. The rest publish no public price, measured 31 August 2026.
What happens if I renew PR software but only one person uses two logins?
You pay effectively double per active user. With the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, one user means EUR 2,650 per active person. That is still lower than Presspage at EUR 20,000 per year for an unknown number of users, but higher than the EUR 1,325 per user if both seats are active.
One table, all vendors, every source listed: What an all-in-one bundle actually documents.