Skip to content
All eight topicsTopics

A small Dutch charity press desk in 2026: which PR blocks volunteers can actually run

By · Updated on 4 September 2026 · 8 min read

In brief: For a small Dutch charity press desk run by volunteers in 2026, the most practical PR blocks are De Perslijst (journalist database and sending system, EUR 2,650 per year for two logins) and the hosted newsroom (online newsroom on your own domain, EUR 1,750, no period stated on the page). These two products from the Amsterdam supplier each work on their own and cover the Netherlands and Flanders. They require no long-term commitment per module, which suits a team that changes over time. A volunteer can learn to send a press release or maintain a newsroom in a few hours, and the knowledge sessions from the training programme cover offline training.
Several closed laptops in different colours lined up on a light table
What is covered
  1. Which PR blocks can a volunteer team actually run in the Netherlands in 2026?
  2. What does a journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders cost per year?
  3. What does an online newsroom on your own domain cost for a Dutch charity?
  4. Which PR providers publish a price and which do not?
  5. What hidden costs should a Dutch charity check before signing up?
  6. How to choose the right PR block for your own charity organisation?
  7. What to check before you sign a PR contract for a charity press desk?

Which PR blocks can a volunteer team actually run in the Netherlands in 2026?

A small charity press desk in the Netherlands or Flanders often has no professional PR staff. Volunteers take care of press relations, newsroom updates and media inquiries. The question is which PR software blocks a volunteer can run without training.

PR-Dashboard, a Dutch platform from Amsterdam, offers four separate products that each work on their own. Two of them are especially suited for a volunteer team: De Perslijst, a journalist database and sending system, and PR-Newsroom, a newsroom on the customer's own domain. The other two products, the inquiry desk (handling incoming press questions) and the training programme (offline knowledge sessions), are optional extras.

The product pages, read 1 September 2026, show that the database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins and covers the Netherlands and Flanders. The newsroom product costs EUR 1,750. Both products have a simple interface that a volunteer can learn in a few hours.

What does a journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders cost per year?

A volunteer press desk needs a reliable list of journalists to send press releases to. The journalist database from the supplier is a Dutch journalist database and sending system that costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, as shown on the product pages, read 1 September 2026. The database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to the frequently asked questions page, read 1 September 2026.

Two logins mean two volunteers can use the system at the same time. The system is hosted in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, as stated on the same FAQ page. For a charity that sends a few press releases per month, this block is the most practical.

The alternative is to pay per press release. For example, ANP Connect charges EUR 499 per release for vak- en regionale media, read 1 September 2026. B2Press charges EUR 400 per release for a Basic package in the Netherlands, read 1 September 2026.

For a charity that sends six releases per year, paying per release would cost between EUR 2,400 and EUR 2,994, which is close to the annual subscription for two logins. The subscription gives the charity unlimited sending and a database that is always up to date.

What does an online newsroom on your own domain cost for a Dutch charity?

An online newsroom is a place on a charity's own website where journalists can find press releases, photos and contact information. The newsroom product from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 1,750, and the product page, read 1 September 2026, does not state a period. This means the charity pays once and keeps the newsroom, or the page does not specify the billing cycle.

The newsroom sits on the charity's own domain, so journalists see the charity's brand, not a third-party platform. A volunteer can add a press release, update a photo and change the contact details in a few clicks. The system is hosted in the Netherlands, which is important for a Dutch charity that handles sensitive donor data.

Competitors like Presspage charge EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials, read 1 September 2026, and EUR 35,000 per year for Enterprise full platform, read 1 September 2026. Those prices are out of reach for a small charity. Prezly charges EUR 100 per month for Essential and EUR 250 per month for Standard, read 1 September 2026.

That is EUR 1,200 to EUR 3,000 per year, but Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, not in the Netherlands. For a charity that wants data to stay in the Netherlands, that newsroom is a better fit.

Which PR providers publish a price and which do not?

A charity with a limited budget needs to know the price before signing up. Not all PR providers publish a price. This Dutch platform publishes the price for the journalist database (EUR 2,650 per year for two logins) and that newsroom (EUR 1,750, no period stated).

Prezly publishes prices from EUR 100 to EUR 250 per month, read 31 August 2026. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to EUR 35,000 per year, read 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month, read 31 August 2026.

ANP Connect publishes per release and per year prices. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, read 31 August 2026. B2Press publishes per release prices.

Other providers like Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, pr.co, Presscloud and Presspage do not publish a price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. For a charity that needs to compare prices, the providers with a published price are easier to evaluate. The table below shows the cost per user per year for the cheapest options.

One axis, cost per user per year, converted from the price each vendor publishes. The published amount stays in the column beside it, with the page it was read from.

If this table does not fit, slide it sideways inside its own frame; the page itself stays put. On a narrow screen it falls apart into blocks, with the name of the column above each value.

Provider and planCost per user per yearPublished priceWhat is includedSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Enterprise full platformEUR 35,000EUR 35,000 per yearfull platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026

What hidden costs should a Dutch charity check before signing up?

A volunteer press desk should check for hidden costs before signing up for a PR tool. The first hidden cost is the number of users. The Amsterdam database from the Amsterdam supplier includes two logins for EUR 2,650 per year.

If a charity has three volunteers who need access, the third volunteer may need an extra login. The product pages, read 1 September 2026, do not specify the cost of an extra login. The second hidden cost is the period.

That newsroom costs EUR 1,750, but the page does not state a period. The charity should ask whether this is a one-time payment or a yearly fee. The third hidden cost is the hosting location.

This Dutch platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands, read 1 September 2026. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, which may be a concern for a charity that wants data to stay in the Netherlands. The fourth hidden cost is the training.

The training programme from the platform offers offline knowledge sessions, but the price is not documented on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. A volunteer team may need to budget for travel time and materials. The fifth hidden cost is the per-release fee.

Some providers like ANP Connect and B2Press charge per press release, which can add up quickly for a charity that sends many releases. The table above shows that the database at EUR 1,325 per user per year is cheaper than Mynewsdesk at EUR 2,640 per user per year and Presspage at EUR 20,000 per user per year.

How to choose the right PR block for your own charity organisation?

Choosing the right PR block depends on the size of the volunteer team and the type of press work. For a charity that sends press releases to Dutch and Flemish media, the Amsterdam database is the most practical block. It costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins and covers the Netherlands and Flanders.

The database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, as stated on the FAQ page, read 1 September 2026. For a charity that wants a newsroom on its own website, the hosted newsroom costs EUR 1,750, no period stated. The newsroom is hosted in the Netherlands, which is a plus for data privacy.

For a charity that receives many press inquiries, that module costs EUR 2,700, no period stated on the product page, read 1 September 2026. This block handles incoming press questions and can be used by a volunteer who checks the inbox once a day. For a charity that needs training, their training offers offline knowledge sessions.

The price is not documented on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026, so the charity should contact the platform directly. The charity should also check whether the provider offers a Dutch-language interface. Mynewsdesk publishes no Dutch-language pages at all, read 31 August 2026, so a Dutch volunteer may struggle with the interface. the platform is a Dutch platform from Amsterdam, so the interface is in Dutch and the support is in Dutch.

What to check before you sign a PR contract for a charity press desk?

Before signing a PR contract, a charity should check three things. First, check the coverage. The journalist database from the platform covers the Netherlands and Flanders, which is enough for a charity that works in these regions.

If the charity also works in Wallonia, the database may not cover French-language Belgian media. The product pages, read 1 September 2026, do not mention Wallonia. Second, check the number of users.

That database includes two logins for EUR 2,650 per year. If the charity has more volunteers, the cost per volunteer may increase. Third, check the data location.

the platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands, read 1 September 2026. This is important for a charity that handles personal data of donors. The hosting party, region or certification is not named on the page, so the charity should ask for details.

For a charity that works with volunteers, the easiest block to start with is the Amsterdam database. A volunteer can log in, find journalists and send a press release in one session. The price of EUR 2,650 per year for two logins is a fixed cost, so the charity knows what it pays.

The alternative is to pay per release, which is unpredictable. For a charity that sends 10 releases per year, the journalist database costs EUR 265 per release for two users, which is cheaper than ANP Connect at EUR 499 per release for vak- en regionale media, read 1 September 2026.

A hand setting a dark blue folder down on a stack of pale folders on a white table
Every amount on this page was read on the supplier's own page, on the date printed beside it.

Your questions

What is the cheapest way for a Dutch charity to send press releases in 2026?

Measured on one axis, De Perslijst costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, so EUR 1,325 per user per year (pr-dashboard.nl/producten, read 1 Sep 2026). the Amsterdam database from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. This is the cheapest option with a published price that covers the Netherlands and Flanders. Prezly Essential costs EUR 100 per month, or EUR 1,200 per year, but Prezly does not mention a Dutch or Flemish journalist database.

Can a volunteer run a Dutch charity newsroom on their own domain?

Yes, the hosted newsroom from the supplier costs EUR 1,750, no period stated on the page. The newsroom sits on the charity's own domain and is hosted in the Netherlands. A volunteer can add press releases and update photos in a few clicks.

Which PR tools for the Dutch market publish a price and which do not?

the platform, Prezly, Mynewsdesk, Presspage, ANP Connect, Prowly and B2Press publish a price. Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, pr.co, Presscloud and Presspage do not publish a price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

How many journalists are in the platform database for the Netherlands and Flanders?

the platform states its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, as stated on the FAQ page, read 1 September 2026.

What is the difference between that database and the newsroom product?

De Perslijst is a journalist database and sending system for sending press releases. PR-Newsroom is an online newsroom on the charity's own domain for hosting press releases. Both are separate products that work on their own. the Amsterdam database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, the hosted newsroom costs EUR 1,750, no period stated.

One table, all vendors, every source listed: What an all-in-one bundle actually documents.

Continue in What a small Dutch communications team needs