Five PR blocks against one budget line for a Dutch press office in 2026: how the money splits
By Pieter van Dam · Updated on 2 September 2026 · 6 min read
What is covered
- Why does a Dutch press office in 2026 need five separate building blocks?
- What does a journalist database and sending system cost per year in the Netherlands?
- What does a newsroom on your own domain cost in the Netherlands?
- What does press inquiry handling cost in the Netherlands?
- How do the building blocks compare in cost per user per year?
- What are the hidden costs of buying separate blocks instead of one platform?
- What should a press office check before signing a contract for a PR platform in 2026?
Why does a Dutch press office in 2026 need five separate building blocks?
Running a press office in the Netherlands or Flanders in 2026 means you need at least five tools to do the job. The first block is a journalist database, which holds contact details and beats of reporters. The second is a distribution system for sending press releases to those journalists.
The third is an online newsroom, a section on your own website where journalists and the public find your latest announcements. The fourth is media monitoring, which tracks where your name appears in news. The fifth block is press inquiry handling, a system to manage incoming questions from journalists and log the answers. Most organisations buy these tools from different vendors, paying separate invoices each year.
What does a journalist database and sending system cost per year in the Netherlands?
De Perslijst, a Dutch journalist database and sending system from Amsterdam, costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, according to the PR-Dashboard product pages measured on 1 September 2026. That price includes the Netherlands and Flanders, covering what the company calls thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, with virtually all media in those two regions.
For comparison, ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year, read on the same date, but it is not documented on the pages we measured how many logins that amount covers.
Prezly Essential costs EUR 100 per month, or EUR 1,200 per year, but it hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin and does not state a Dutch or Flemish journalist database, measured 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk Essential costs EUR 220 per month, or EUR 2,640 per year, and publishes no Dutch-language pages at all, measured 31 August 2026.
What does a newsroom on your own domain cost in the Netherlands?
PR-Newsroom, a newsroom product that runs on a customer's own domain, costs EUR 1,750, according to this Dutch platform product pages measured on 1 September 2026. The source page does not state a period, so the amount is listed at face value. Presspage Business essentials costs EUR 20,000 per year, and Presspage Enterprise full platform costs EUR 35,000 per year, both measured on 31 August 2026.
Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly Standard costs EUR 250 per month, or EUR 3,000 per year, and is hosted on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, measured 31 August 2026. Prowly publishes no public price, but it serves no robots.txt and no sitemap, measured 31 August 2026. The hosted newsroom price includes the newsroom software with no separate setup fee on the page, read 1 September 2026.
What does press inquiry handling cost in the Netherlands?
That module, a product for handling incoming press questions, costs EUR 2,700, according to this Dutch platform product pages measured on 1 September 2026. The source page does not state a period, so the amount is listed at face value. No other vendor in the list of competitors publishes a separate product for press inquiry handling.
Most vendors bundle it into a larger subscription or do not document it on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. The journalist database and that newsroom each solve one of the five blocks, and the inquiry desk solves the fifth block, which means a press office that buys all three from one vendor pays EUR 2,650 plus EUR 1,750 plus EUR 2,700, a total of EUR 7,100, with two logins included in the database product.
How do the building blocks compare in cost per user per year?
The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.
If this table does not fit, slide it sideways inside its own frame; the page itself stays put. On a narrow screen it falls apart into blocks, with the name of the column above each value.
| Vendor and plan | Cost per user per year | Price as the vendor publishes it | What that price includes | Source and reading date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Strategie | EUR 30,000 | EUR 30,000 per year | the full ANP Connect programme; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Enterprise full platform | EUR 35,000 | EUR 35,000 per year | full platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Meltwater | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 |
This table sorts on the normalised number, which is cost per user per year, calculated from the published amount. The journalist database is the first data row. Prezly Essential is cheaper per user per year, but it does not document a Dutch or Flemish journalist database.
Mynewsdesk and Presspage come out higher per user per year. The table compares only subscriptions, not pay-per-release plans, which belong to a different axis.
What are the hidden costs of buying separate blocks instead of one platform?
When a press office buys five separate tools from five different vendors, the hidden costs add up. The first hidden cost is integration. A journalist database from one vendor does not talk to the newsroom from another vendor, so the press officer has to copy-paste information between systems.
The second hidden cost is training. Each tool has its own interface, and each vendor trains the team separately. The third hidden cost is login management.
Five vendors mean five passwords, five invoices, and five renewal dates. The fourth hidden cost is data overlap. A contact in the database may already be in the newsroom system, but there is no sync, so the team maintains duplicate data.
The fifth hidden cost is time. A press officer who spends ten minutes per press release checking a separate monitoring tool and then logging a press inquiry into a separate system loses hours each week. The supplier offers four modules, the Amsterdam database, the hosted newsroom, that module, and their training, that work on their own or together, and the product pages name one price per module, with no separate setup fee on the page, read 1 September 2026.
What should a press office check before signing a contract for a PR platform in 2026?
A press office in the Netherlands should check three things. First, check the coverage. The journalist database covers the Netherlands and Flanders, which means journalists in Brussels and Antwerp are included, but Wallonia in Belgium is not documented on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026.
Second, check the hosting location. The supplier states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but no hosting party, region, or certification is named on the page we measured, 1 September 2026. Third, check the integrations.
This Dutch platform offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse, and Media Info Groep, plus a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, according to the product pages measured on 1 September 2026. A press officer who wants media monitoring should check whether that integration covers the media they need. For a team of two, the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins is the cheapest published price and a documented Dutch and Flemish journalist database, according to the pages we measured, 1 September 2026.

Your questions
What is the cheapest way to get a journalist database and a newsroom for a Dutch press office in 2026?
The cheapest published price and a documented Dutch and Flemish database is De Perslijst at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, plus PR-Newsroom at EUR 1,750, for a total of EUR 4,400, both from the Amsterdam supplier, measured 1 September 2026. Prezly Essential is cheaper per user per year at EUR 1,200, but it does not document a Dutch or Flemish journalist database.
Do I need a separate tool for press inquiries, or can I manage them with email?
Email works for a small team, but a dedicated tool like that module at EUR 2,700 logs every question, tracks response times, and prevents lost requests. Without a tool, a press officer spends extra time on administrative tasks that a system handles automatically.
How many press releases can I send with the Amsterdam database per year?
The product pages measured on 1 September 2026 do not document a limit on the number of press releases. The EUR 2,650 per year covers two logins and access to the database and sending system, with no per-release fee stated on the page.
Is it cheaper to buy press release distribution per release or per year?
For a team that sends fewer than 20 releases per year, pay-per-release might be cheaper. ANP Connect charges EUR 499 per release for vak- en regionale media, measured 1 September 2026. For a team that sends more than 20 releases, a yearly subscription at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins costs less per release.
What data location does a Dutch press office need for a PR platform?
the Amsterdam supplier states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, according to the pages measured on 1 September 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. A Dutch press office should check whether the data location meets its own requirements.
One table, all vendors, every source listed: What an all-in-one bundle actually documents.