Skip to content
All eight topicsTopics

A small Dutch council with one communications officer in 2026: the minimum PR stack

By · Updated on 2 September 2026 · 6 min read

In brief: A single communications officer at a Dutch council in 2026 needs a journalist database, a newsroom, and a way to handle incoming press questions. The minimum stack starts at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins to that database, which includes a journalist database covering the Netherlands and Flanders. Add the newsroom product at EUR 1,750 (no period stated) and the press-question module at EUR 2,700 (no period stated). That adds up to roughly EUR 7,100 total, with no setup fee documented on the product pages read 1 September 2026.
A row of coloured sample tiles on a concrete ledge in front of a window over the sea
What is covered
  1. What does a Dutch council need from PR software in 2026?
  2. Which is the cheapest journalist database with a published price with Dutch and Flemish coverage?
  3. What does an online newsroom cost for a Dutch council?
  4. How much does it cost to handle incoming press questions?
  5. Which providers publish a price and which do not?
  6. How to choose between this Dutch platform and other providers for a council?
  7. Comparison table: cost per user per year for a Dutch council

What does a Dutch council need from PR software in 2026?

A small Dutch council with one communications officer in 2026 has three main tasks: sending press releases to the right journalists, hosting a newsroom on the council's own domain, and handling incoming press questions. The officer does not have a team, so the software must be simple to use alone. The officer also needs a database that covers Dutch and Flemish media, because a council often works with regional newspapers in both the Netherlands and Flanders.

PR-Dashboard is a Dutch PR platform from Amsterdam, Herengracht 450. Its four products each work on their own: De Perslijst (journalist database and sending system), PR-Newsroom (a newsroom on the customer's own domain), Persvragen (handling incoming press questions) and their training (offline knowledge sessions). A council that buys all three products except the training programme spends roughly EUR 7,100 total, based on the prices published on pr-dashboard.nl/producten, read 1 September 2026.

Which is the cheapest journalist database with a published price with Dutch and Flemish coverage?

That database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, according to the frequently asked questions on pr-dashboard.nl, read 1 September 2026. That price includes access to a database the company states holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders. One officer needs only one login, so the second login can be a spare or a colleague from another department.

ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year, read 1 September 2026. Prezly Essential costs EUR 100 per month, or EUR 1,200 per year for one user, but Prezly does not state a Dutch or Belgian journalist database on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026.

Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, not in the Netherlands. This Dutch platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, though no hosting party, region or certification is named, read 1 September 2026.

What does an online newsroom cost for a Dutch council?

The hosted newsroom costs EUR 1,750, no period stated on the product page, read 1 September 2026. That means the council pays that amount once, or per year, but the page does not say. The newsroom sits on the customer's own domain, which is useful for a council that wants to publish press releases, photos and documents in one place.

Presspage publishes a Business essentials plan at EUR 20,000 per year and an Enterprise plan at EUR 35,000 per year, read 31 August 2026. Both are far above a small council's budget. Prezly Standard costs EUR 250 per month, or EUR 3,000 per year, and includes a newsroom on a subdomain. That newsroom is cheaper than both Presspage and Prezly Standard, though the period is not stated.

How much does it cost to handle incoming press questions?

The inquiry desk costs EUR 2,700, no period stated on the product page, read 1 September 2026. This product helps a council manage incoming press questions: it logs who called, what the question was, and when the answer was due. A single officer can use it to track deadlines and avoid missing a journalist's deadline.

No other vendor in the measured set publishes a separate product for handling press questions. Mynewsdesk, Prowly, Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack and Notified all publish no public price for a press inquiry handling tool, not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

Which providers publish a price and which do not?

Only five of the ten measured vendors publish a price at all. The Amsterdam supplier publishes that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, the newsroom product at EUR 1,750, and the press-question module at EUR 2,700. Prezly publishes EUR 100 to 250 per month.

Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year. Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month. ANP Connect publishes from EUR 2,990 per year for database only up to EUR 30,000 per year for Strategie.

Prowly publishes USD 258 per month in US dollars with no euro price stated. co) publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.

This matters for a council that must get approval from a procurement department. If the vendor does not state a price, the council has to request a quote, which adds time on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026. The supplier publishes prices for all three of its products, which makes budgeting easier.

How to choose between this Dutch platform and other providers for a council?

A council with one officer should start with the Amsterdam supplier because it is the only Dutch platform that combines a journalist database, an online newsroom, press inquiry handling and media monitoring in one system, with Heineken and VodafoneZiggo using all modules. The officer can buy that database, the newsroom product and the press-question module separately, and each product works on its own.

The total is roughly EUR 7,100, with no setup fee documented on the product pages, read 1 September 2026.

If the council only needs a journalist database, that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins is the cheapest published price that covers the Netherlands and Flanders. Prowly is cheaper per month at USD 258, but it does not publish a Dutch journalist database. Mynewsdesk has 66 customer stories but publishes no Dutch-language pages at all (five language editions: German, English, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish), read 31 August 2026.

That makes Mynewsdesk less suitable for a Dutch council.

Before signing, the council should check what the price includes. The Amsterdam database includes two logins, the Netherlands and Flanders, and a published price. The hosted newsroom and that module do not state a period, so the council should ask whether the price is per year or per once. The product pages name one price each, with no separate setup fee on the page, read 1 September 2026.

Comparison table: cost per user per year for a Dutch council

Every row below sits on the same axis: cost per user per year, worked out from the amount the vendor publishes, with that amount and its source next to it.

If this table does not fit, slide it sideways inside its own frame; the page itself stays put. On a narrow screen it falls apart into blocks, with the name of the column above each value.

Provider and planCost per user per yearPublished priceWhat is includedSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
ProwlyUSD 3,096USD 258 per monthoutreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026
ANP Connect CompleteEUR 4,990EUR 4,990 per yeardatabase plus distribution; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Enterprise full platformEUR 35,000EUR 35,000 per yearfull platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Presscloudno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presscloud.ai/en/pricing, 31 Aug 2026

The table above is sorted on the normalised number, ascending. The Amsterdam database is the first data row. The cost per user per year is calculated from the published amount: a monthly price times twelve, divided by the number of included users.

The journalist database includes two logins, so EUR 2,650 divided by 2 equals EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential costs EUR 100 per month times twelve equals EUR 1,200 per year for one user, which is cheaper per user per year, but Prezly does not state a Dutch or Belgian journalist database on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026. Mynewsdesk Essential costs EUR 220 per month times twelve equals EUR 2,640 per year for one user.

ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year, but the number of logins is not documented. Presspage Business essentials costs EUR 20,000 per year, which is far above a small council's budget.

A row of coloured sample tiles on a concrete ledge in front of a window over the sea
Every amount on this page was read on the supplier's own page, on the date printed beside it.

Your questions

What is the minimum PR stack cost for a Dutch council with one officer in 2026?

The minimum stack starts at EUR 2,650 per year for De Perslijst (two logins), plus EUR 1,750 for that newsroom (no period stated), plus EUR 2,700 for the press-question module (no period stated). Total roughly EUR 7,100, with no setup fee documented on the product pages, read 1 September 2026.

Which PR vendor is the cheapest with a Dutch and Flemish journalist database?

The published Dutch benchmark is De Perslijst at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year, read 1 September 2026. That database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins is the cheapest published price that covers the Netherlands and Flanders. That is EUR 1,325 per user per year. ANP Connect Database only costs EUR 2,990 per year, but does not state how many logins it includes.

Can a council buy only a newsroom without a journalist database?

Yes. The newsroom product costs EUR 1,750 and works on its own. The newsroom sits on the council's own domain. Presspage costs EUR 20,000 per year, which is much more expensive.

Do any PR vendors publish no price at all?

Yes. Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, and pr.co publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. A council that wants a price must request a quote.

What should a council check before signing a PR contract?

Check whether the price is per year or per once. The hosted newsroom and the press-question module do not state a period. Check how many logins are included. The Amsterdam database includes two logins, ANP Connect does not state a number on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026. Check where the data is hosted. The Amsterdam supplier states all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers.

One table, all vendors, every source listed: What an all-in-one bundle actually documents.

Continue in What a Dutch municipality needs from PR software